What Mister Transmission Looks For When Conducting A Transmission Inspection

October 24, 2022 | By Mister Transmission

What Mister Transmission Looks For When Conducting A Transmission Inspection

Discover how Mister Transmission performs our diagnostic services and conducts transmission inspections to discover the cause of transmission problems.

Transmission Inspections

Some transmission problems are obvious. If there are big puddles of transmission fluid underneath your vehicle after you’ve parked, then it’s pretty likely that you have a leak. But other problems are not so easy to determine. They require a thorough inspection of the transmission to discover.

It’s important that transmission shops have a comprehensive method for conducting transmission inspections. This way, they’ll be sure they’ve inspected every component and part of your transmission. At Mister Transmission, we have the Multi-Check Inspection.

Mister Transmission’s Multi-Check Inspection

The Multi-Check inspection consists of multiple inspection practices, each investigating further. We conduct our inspections until we find the cause of a problem, or we’re confident we can give the transmission a clean bill of health. The steps of the Multi-Check Inspection are:

The Visual Inspection

The first step is an obvious one: we look at the transmission. If there’s something clearly wrong with the transmission, then we can start the repair. If nothing looks wrong, we proceed with the inspection.

The Transmission Fluid Check

A transmission in good condition will have a clear red (or sometimes green) fluid. Discoloured or odious fluid indicates problems, such as internal damage. If the fluid simply isn’t old and past its best by date, then we may want to inspect further.

The Road Rest

The road test comprises two segments: a stationary test and a driving test. We’ll thoroughly test every position of your transmission for slipping, noises, harsh, soft or erratic shifting, and late or early shift patterns.

On-Board Diagnostics

The OBD process is a type of computer scan. We have technology that allows us to interface with your vehicle’s on-board computer. This computer can give us a code that tells us where it thinks the problem is.

Lift Inspection

We may decide that we need to investigate further. The next step is a lift inspection, in which our technician checks the following:

  • Neutral Switch
  • Engine RPM
  • Throttle Linkage
  • Modulators
  • Transmission Mounts
  • U-Joints
  • Fluid Retention
  • Electronic Controls

Pan Examination

Last, we may check the fluid in your pan. We expect to see some metal particles and friction material present. However, an excessive amount indicates internal wear and damage. If that is the case, and we don’t think a minor adjustment can correct the problem, we will engage in more complex inspection services. You can rest assured, we’ll get to the bottom of whatever’s ailing your transmission.

Come To Mister Transmission For Transmission Inspection.

Please contact us if you need a transmission inspection or any other transmission service. You can find a list of our locations here.

image-reviews image-reviews
Customer Reviews
Really great people and helped...
George Brocco
Really great people and helped me out of a bad situation. Thanks for fixing my Buick
Date: December 8, 2022
Website: Google
I can not say enough...
Glenn Norman
I can not say enough about the SUPERB service performed by Carlo & his team. After MONTHS of "dead-end treatment" by other independent mechanics, our Honda Accord's clutch problems were FINALLY solved quickly, professionally, and in a friendly, positive manner. We HIGHLY recommend Mr. Transmission in Orangeville to anyone looking for repair work they can TRULY trust. FIVE STARS. (Wish I could give more.)
Date: December 8, 2022
Website: Google
Great people and service.
Michele Vance
Great people and service.
Date: December 8, 2022
Website: Google
Excellent people and service
TWIN CITY
Excellent people and service
Date: December 7, 2022
Website: Google
Fixed my moms car. Honest...
S Bas
Fixed my moms car. Honest and quick work
Date: December 7, 2022
Website: Google
Friendly staff, explained everything that...
Andy Haley
Friendly staff, explained everything that needed to be done, and provided an accurate estimate. Repairs were done on time.
Date: December 5, 2022
Website: Google
Great job! Had transfer case...
Sea Ray
Great job! Had transfer case fluid changed. Plugs were seized on and they managed to get them off. Highly recommend.
Date: December 5, 2022
Website: Google
When I had been reaching...
Akshay Saliya
When I had been reaching 25km/h that time car was paused automatically for one second then again started to pick up the speed so I took my car to other mechanics for checking my car but they were saying that my transmission is failed but I could drive very well my car and did not get any sign on display I was confused and couple of days before I went to mister transaction to diagnose my car then Gus just changed transmission fluid and problem is fixed so he saved mine 5000 dollars. Thanks Gus to help me to fix my car. I am too delighted by your service.
Date: December 4, 2022
Website: Google
Easily one of the best...
Ez G
Easily one of the best shops to do business with. Had an issue with work that was done. With no hassle they corrected it without an appointment. Would highly recommend. Fair honest and respectable. Great management And no this isn't a paid review like other shops.
Date: December 2, 2022
Website: Google
Très professionnel, accueil irréprochable pour...
Rym Boughanmi
Très professionnel, accueil irréprochable pour ma part , service bilingue , et a l'écoute.
Date: December 2, 2022
Website: Google
Featured Services
Transmission Repair

The evolution of transmissions has made these machines and systems increasingly complex. When transmission repairs are required, determining the cause and cure for what ails can be tricky.

Read More
Transmission Technology

At Mister Transmission we have access to leading-edge diagnostic equipment, enabling us to offer you the fastest and most accurate findings about what’s going on inside your vehicle’s transmission.

Read More
Transmission Maintenance & Service

Just as you have other parts of your car serviced, your transmission needs maintenance to ensure a long life and avoid transmission problems.

Read More
Recent Blogs
Why It’s Better To Trust Your Tran...
Learn about the different services offered by a transmission shop and discover why
Read More
November 7, 2022
What Is An Automatic Transmission Rebuil...
Learn how an automatic transmission rebuild works, when these rebuilds are necessary,
Read More
November 3, 2022
The Big Mistake To Avoid When It Comes T...
If your vehicle needs a transmission replacement, you’re likely having a rough
Read More
October 31, 2022
What You’re Getting Wrong About Tr...
Whether you’re a first-time vehicle owner or a seasoned driver, here are some
Read More
October 27, 2022
What Mister Transmission Looks For When ...
Discover how Mister Transmission performs our diagnostic services and conducts
Read More
October 24, 2022
“What’s The Best Transmissio...
If you’ve been searching, “What’s the best transmission shop near me?” in
Read More
October 20, 2022
6 Of The Most Common Transmission Servic...
Learn about six of the more common transmission services offered by Mister
Read More
October 14, 2022
What You Should Know About Manual Transm...
Discover how manual transmission repair differs from automatic transmission repair
Read More
October 7, 2022
What Services Do High-Performance Transm...
If you demand a higher level of performance from your transmission, it needs a higher
Read More
August 12, 2022
What Is Transmission Oil, And What Do Yo...
Discover what transmission oil is, what it does, what transmissions use transmission
Read More
August 5, 2022