What Mister Transmission Looks For When Conducting A Transmission Inspection

October 24, 2022 | By Mister Transmission

What Mister Transmission Looks For When Conducting A Transmission Inspection

Discover how Mister Transmission performs our diagnostic services and conducts transmission inspections to discover the cause of transmission problems.

Transmission Inspections

Some transmission problems are obvious. If there are big puddles of transmission fluid underneath your vehicle after you’ve parked, then it’s pretty likely that you have a leak. But other problems are not so easy to determine. They require a thorough inspection of the transmission to discover.

It’s important that transmission shops have a comprehensive method for conducting transmission inspections. This way, they’ll be sure they’ve inspected every component and part of your transmission. At Mister Transmission, we have the Multi-Check Inspection.

Mister Transmission’s Multi-Check Inspection

The Multi-Check inspection consists of multiple inspection practices, each investigating further. We conduct our inspections until we find the cause of a problem, or we’re confident we can give the transmission a clean bill of health. The steps of the Multi-Check Inspection are:

The Visual Inspection

The first step is an obvious one: we look at the transmission. If there’s something clearly wrong with the transmission, then we can start the repair. If nothing looks wrong, we proceed with the inspection.

The Transmission Fluid Check

A transmission in good condition will have a clear red (or sometimes green) fluid. Discoloured or odious fluid indicates problems, such as internal damage. If the fluid simply isn’t old and past its best by date, then we may want to inspect further.

The Road Rest

The road test comprises two segments: a stationary test and a driving test. We’ll thoroughly test every position of your transmission for slipping, noises, harsh, soft or erratic shifting, and late or early shift patterns.

On-Board Diagnostics

The OBD process is a type of computer scan. We have technology that allows us to interface with your vehicle’s on-board computer. This computer can give us a code that tells us where it thinks the problem is.

Lift Inspection

We may decide that we need to investigate further. The next step is a lift inspection, in which our technician checks the following:

  • Neutral Switch
  • Engine RPM
  • Throttle Linkage
  • Modulators
  • Transmission Mounts
  • U-Joints
  • Fluid Retention
  • Electronic Controls

Pan Examination

Last, we may check the fluid in your pan. We expect to see some metal particles and friction material present. However, an excessive amount indicates internal wear and damage. If that is the case, and we don’t think a minor adjustment can correct the problem, we will engage in more complex inspection services. You can rest assured, we’ll get to the bottom of whatever’s ailing your transmission.

Come To Mister Transmission For Transmission Inspection.

Please contact us if you need a transmission inspection or any other transmission service. You can find a list of our locations here.

image-reviews image-reviews
Customer Reviews
Thank you for the excellent...
Sal Catalano
Thank you for the excellent service. Nicole, Ron and Ken are all great to deal with.
Date: May 22, 2024
Website: Google
My car is 2019 nissan...
권세우
My car is 2019 nissan kicks. Iast month I changed transmission oil at Car center located Dundas street. I didn't know that about they putted wrong transmission oil. My car engine check light on and when I drive crz shaking... Today in the morning I went to Mr transmission and met Maki. He is manager very honest guy.. He checked my transmission. He took out transmission fan and show to me.. Fan is clean means transmission is no damage...he said. He changed transmission oil(right one) and filter charged me just $500 . Unbelievable my all problems gone. Excellent condition now. I recommend ppl who have transmission problem, go to Mr transmission and meet Maki. You can save money and time. You will be happy very. Thanks again Maki..
Date: May 22, 2024
Website: Google
I've had an exceptional experience...
Gil Santos
I've had an exceptional experience with Frank at Mister Transmission! His professionalism, positivity, and enthusiasm are impressive, and his expertise as a veteran is unparalleled. He was able to diagnose the issue with my vehicle simply by listening to the engine run! The 3-year warranty program and loaner car service demonstrate Mister Transmission's commitment to customer satisfaction and building trust. Frank and his team are dedicated to excellence, and I highly recommend their services to anyone seeking top-notch transmission repairs. Keep up the fantastic work, Frank and team! Rating: 5/5 stars
Date: May 22, 2024
Website: Google
I went to Mr transmission...
권세우
I went to Mr transmission today. My car is 2019 nissan kicks. My car engine check light on and during the drive very shaking. This store manager aki, very nice guy. He explained everything detail and took out fan show me. He changed transmission oil right one and filter. He charged me only $500 fixed all my car problems. He is very honest guy. I recommend all ppl who have transmission problems, go to this store Meet him. You should be lucky and happy.
Date: May 21, 2024
Website: Google
Quick service, friendly staff and...
Damian Gorka
Quick service, friendly staff and very honest. I definitely recommend this shop for your transmission service.
Date: May 21, 2024
Website: Google
06 xterra Only place in...
Joel Mosolf
06 xterra Only place in town willing to work on a very commonly broken transmission. Not only was the price very reasonable but the vehicle now drives like new. Honestly didn't believe it was possible. The whole experience was outstanding. I'll recommend these beauties everytime. Thanks for the help!
Date: May 20, 2024
Website: Google
I had an issue with...
Scott J
I had an issue with my Nissan Altima jerking on the way home. Waited into I could take it here and have them do a quick test drive (which is free and very nice, though they may not feel the same issue which is the hard part). Peter was able to tell something was wrong and it’s a common issue with the CVT transmission on Nissans. He took us in the back of the shop as they were currently working on one and could show us the pulleys and CVT housing and the one piece that fails. Unfortunately, due to the price of the parts from Nissan, and low margins, and the fact that in order to fix the one small part would require a whole new transmission to ensure everything was new, it would be $4,500-5,500 + taxes. This is basically the value of the car (probably more than the worth) so not really an option for us. We appreciated the detailed info and seeing the parts and the free test drive. Very helpful - so if you have an issue with your transmission and know nothing about cars (like me), definitely worth it to take here.
Date: May 19, 2024
Website: Google
Had an issue with our...
Jamie Robertson
Had an issue with our delivery van. Called Mister Transmission and 5 minutes later Travis was here. Exceptional service! Highly recommended. Thank you on behalf of Gerry's Truck Centre
Date: May 17, 2024
Website: Google
Good crew and fast honest...
Cole Boyd
Good crew and fast honest work, would recommend to friends and family.
Date: May 17, 2024
Website: Google
Mandeep gave excellent service and...
E L
Mandeep gave excellent service and was very honest. Thank you for everything!
Date: May 17, 2024
Website: Google
Featured Services
Transmission Repair

The evolution of transmissions has made these machines and systems increasingly complex. When transmission repairs are required, determining the cause and cure for what ails can be tricky.

Read More
Transmission Technology

At Mister Transmission we have access to leading-edge diagnostic equipment, enabling us to offer you the fastest and most accurate findings about what’s going on inside your vehicle’s transmission.

Read More
Transmission Maintenance & Service

Just as you have other parts of your car serviced, your transmission needs maintenance to ensure a long life and avoid transmission problems.

Read More
Mister Transmission Blogs
Recent Blogs
How Transmission Overheating Can Impact ...
The transmission is the heart of your vehicle's drivetrain, playing a crucial role in
Read More
May 17, 2024
Transmission Shift Kits: Transforming Yo...
In the world of automotive enhancements, few upgrades can match the impact of a
Read More
May 7, 2024
Transmission Problems: Signs, Solutions,...
Maintaining a healthy transmission is crucial for the longevity and performance of
Read More
April 30, 2024
Saving On Your Ford Transmission Replace...
When it comes to maintaining your Ford, understanding the intricacies of transmission
Read More
April 22, 2024
5 Signs It’s Time For A Transmissi...
Maintaining your vehicle's transmission is crucial for its longevity and performance.
Read More
April 12, 2024
Prevent Automatic Transmission Slipping:...
Automatic transmission slipping is more than just an inconvenience; it can signal
Read More
April 5, 2024
CVT Transmission Repair Simplified: Expe...
Continuously Variable Transmissions (CVT) are known for their smooth, seamless
Read More
March 29, 2024
The Essential Guide To Cooling Transmiss...
For any vehicle, the health of its transmission system is paramount. One key aspect
Read More
March 22, 2024
The Role Of Solenoids In Your Transmissi...
In the intricate world of automotive transmissions, solenoids are fundamental
Read More
March 14, 2024
Transmission Shop Near Me: Ensuring Your...
When it comes to vehicle maintenance, the transmission is a critical component,
Read More
March 7, 2024