What Is Involved in a Multi-Check Inspection?

By Mister Transmission

What Is Involved in a Multi-Check Inspection

Most of us would love to be the kind of person who can take care of their vehicle themselves. We’d love to be able to do routine maintenance and to figure out when something’s wrong and how to fix it. And perhaps we study and learn and can do the basic things like change the oil and pump our tires, but there’s some much more to an automobile. And there’s so much to our lives with our jobs, our families, our social obligations, we can’t afford to spend an entire week tinkering with our cars. And this is especially true for machinery that’s as complex as a transmission.

Transmission Service

Transmissions have always been complex and intricate machines. But in recent years, the increased computerization and digitization of transmissions have made them all the more complex and intricate. Unless you’re specifically trained to work on transmission service, you really can’t expect to take care of everything yourself. But that’s ok, because we here at Mister Transmission are dedicated to performing a comprehensive multi-check inspection of your transmission as part of our transmission service.

Multi-Check Inspection

Preventative transmission maintenance is crucial because ensures that you can keep your car on the road and keep it in efficient and safe working order. Just like the other parts of the car need to be serviced, the transmission needs maintenance to increase its longevity and to avoid transmission problems. At Mister Transmission, our transmission service consists of a complete inspection of your transmission’s performance and general operation. And we perform several of these procedures twice; once by the centre manager, and then again by a technician. This way we can double check your transmission’s key systems and provide you with added assurance.

The Process

The Mister Transmission Multi-Check Inspection includes:

  • Fluid Check
  • Road Test
  • Lift Inspection (if required)
  • Pan Examination (if required)

Your transmissions fluid is a bit like the canary in the coal mine. If something is amiss with your transmission, a fluid check should tell us. If the fluid is clear red, your transmission is likely in good working order. However, if the fluid is discoloured or has an unpleasant odour, this is probably a sign of wear and tear impeding your transmission’s function.

The second step as part of our transmission service is to perform a road check. We perform both a stationary test and a driving test. What we look for here is any problematic slipping, noises, harsh, soft, or erratic shifting, as well as late or early shift patterns.

During the lift inspection we will check the following:

  • Neutral Switch
  • Engine RPM
  • Throttle Linkage
  • Modulators
  • Transmission Mounts
  • U-Joints
  • Fluid Retention
  • Electronic Controls

This will determine if a minor adjustment will correct the problem of your transmission.

The last step in our multi-check inspection of your transmission is the pan examination. Here, we examine your transmission’s pan for an excess of metal particles and friction material. Too much of this type of debris indicates wear and tear and if we determine that a minor adjustment is not sufficient to correct the problem, we may recommend an inspection service to determine exactly what is wrong with your transmission.

Contact Us

If you have any more questions about our transmission service or our multi-check inspection, please do not hesitate to contact us.

image-reviews image-reviews
Customer Reviews
Mister Transmission Barrie exceeded my...
Ted Wilson
Mister Transmission Barrie exceeded my expectations. Al and the service staff were great to work with. My CRV was well taken care of and is now driving better than ever. Thank you!
Date: September 25, 2020
Website: Google
Call Mel for any transmission...
Denise Larre
Call Mel for any transmission work that you need done. Him and his crew will take care of you! Very Professional, called and kept me informed and answered any questions I had! I would go back there and highly recommend it! I can’t thank them enough for getting my precious car running again!
Date: September 24, 2020
Website: Google
Guelph....You are so lucky to...
Darrell Pond
Guelph....You are so lucky to have Cory and his team at Mister Transmission. I wish I could give more stars!!Was having trouble with my Honda CRV that I thought was transmission related. Cory took my car for a drive, experienced what I was talking about and ran a diagnostic on the car. Turns out that it wasn’t the transmission at all, it was the catalytic converter. Cory was forthcoming and said this wasn’t his team’s specialty.He didn’t charge me for the diagnostic and recommended I seek a general repair shop.Cory’s honesty and outstanding business acumen will have me back if and when I have a transmission problem. I will be recommending Cory and his team to everyone I know.
Date: September 24, 2020
Website: Google
I am a petite, doe...
Bethany Corner
I am a petite, doe eyed, 20-something, female and I was amazed by their professionalism and integrity. I had a mechanic from another shop tell me he thought the problem I was having with my car was with my transmission. I took my car to Mister transmission to get a second opinion and they did a free diagnosis and told me my transmission was fine. They didn't make a penny off me, but I know for sure I will recommend them to anyone who asks because of their integrity.
Date: September 24, 2020
Website: Google
I went into Mister Transmission...
Paul Roy
I went into Mister Transmission to have what I thought was a Transmission problem. It wasn't but they found the issue in no time being a transfer case and right front axel. Only the work required was performed. Could't be happier.
Date: September 23, 2020
Website: Google
Very helpful owner and staff....
Dharmesh Patel
Very helpful owner and staff. Also very knowledgeable. Thanks
Date: September 23, 2020
Website: Google
Great place
Dan Savage
Great place
Date: September 23, 2020
Website: Google
Went off-roading and had my...
Mike Uetz
Went off-roading and had my Jeep fall into a giant mud hole that ruined the engine. Decided to take my Jeep to Off-road addiction in St Thomas who were going to do an engine swap. After 2+ months, they weren't able to complete the work nor figure out the issue. They said to take it into a dealership. Dealership quoted me $10k for a new transmission. Was recommended to checkout Mister Transmission and I wish I knew about them sooner.Pete was awesome to work with, he explained everything that was wrong, documented it and took pictures. Previously the engine and transmission weren't seated properly and had cracked the transmission pump. These guys were able to rebuild my transmission, put in a new transmission pump, seat the engine and transmission properly, and have the whole thing running properly with the quoted estimate in both cost and time. I was completely amazed by how quickly they were able to fix my issues.This is the only shop I'll take my Jeep in for any work done in the future. Last year I had my gear and pinion swapped from 3.23 to 4.56, again with flawless work and 0 issues.100/10 recommend you take your vehicle here for any servicing needs. These guys know their stuff and I'm happy to throw money at them any time I need work done.
Date: September 23, 2020
Website: Google
Good service, decent prices.
Jake A
Good service, decent prices.
Date: September 23, 2020
Website: Google
I called Georgio and told...
Megan Wood
I called Georgio and told him that I was having an error message on my transmission. I brought my car to his shop and he diagnosed the problem. He told me that I should take my car to the dealership (Ford) as the issue should be covered under an extended warranty. Luckily, it was covered under warranty. Georgio did not charge me anything for the diagnosis and was very honest, professional, and kind. I would recommend him to anyone! Thanks again Georgio!!
Date: September 22, 2020
Website: Google
Featured Services
Transmission Repair

The evolution of transmissions has made these machines and systems increasingly complex. When transmission repairs are required, determining the cause and cure for what ails can be tricky.

Read More
Transmission Technology

At Mister Transmission we have access to leading-edge diagnostic equipment, enabling us to offer you the fastest and most accurate findings about what’s going on inside your vehicle’s transmission.

Read More
Transmission Maintenance & Service

Just as you have other parts of your car serviced, your transmission needs maintenance to ensure a long life and avoid transmission problems.

Read More
Recent Blogs
4 Things A Transmission Shop Can Do For ...
Transmission shops look after your transmission to ensure it runs as efficiently and
Read More
August 28, 2020
How Can You Tell Transmission Problems A...
The first step in solving any problem is to correctly identify its cause. The same is
Read More
August 21, 2020
What Are The Most Common Transmission Re...
Transmissions are incredibly intricate pieces of machinery. There’s a lot that goes
Read More
August 14, 2020
What Are The Benefits Of Transmission Se...
Just as humans have to see the doctor regularly, automobiles also need regular
Read More
August 7, 2020
Can A Transmission Be Repaired?
Transmission repair is a tricky business. That is because transmissions themselves
Read More
June 17, 2020
How Long Can You Drive With A Bad Transm...
Procrastination: it’s something we’re all guilty of. Why do today what you can
Read More
June 10, 2020
How Do I Know If My Transmission Needs T...
If you can avoid it, you really do not want to replace your transmission.
Read More
June 3, 2020
What Are The Symptoms Of Low Transmissio...
Low transmission fluid can cause multiple issues with your automobile’s
Read More
May 27, 2020
How to Check Transmission Fluid
Regular checking of your transmission fluid is a vital practice to keep up the health
Read More
May 1, 2020
Is Transmission Service Necessary?
When dealing with automotive professionals, regular people sometimes get nervous.
Read More
April 27, 2020