Written Reviews

"I brought my vehicle in for service on Monday morning because it was sounding as though slippage was ocurring. I was to be contacted with problem and cost to repair by early afternoon,same day. By 2pm I had heard nothing and called the shop . I had to call several more times before I got problem and cost info. It was to be ready Tuesday night but due to some breakage and receiving a wrong part from their supplier, the car was not ready until Wednesday afternoon. By Friday morning, approximately 36 hours later, I was returning it for additional repairs. It sounded and felt worse than the original problem I brought her in to fix. Within a 1 minute test drive, Greg, the owner, knew what the problem was. Greg then made the claim that apparently the GM solonoids used have been a problem and the new one installed needed to be replaced. I was told by Greg that the vehicle would be ready early this afternoon and that someone from Mr. Transmission would come pick me up to retrieve my vehicle. I was driven home by one of the staff. I had to call quite a few times to see if it was ready and by 5pm was getting a little anxious. This is Friday night, and I had to be at work at 6:30am., Saturday morning. I was then told there was no one to pick me up nor was anyone going to be there, when I arrived, contrary with the promise made by Greg earlier in the day. Luckily I was able to arrange transportation to the site to pick up my vehicle. There was no one there to make sure I got it ok or to go over the necessay repairs that had to be made. I do not know what was done further. I am happy the car is now-fixd but am not happy with the support service that could have left me in a lurch for the enire weekend.

Test T
8 Years Ago

First off, the location was the Hamilton store on upper James, but my invoice number is 1598. I will never bring my car back to Mister Transmission. The customer service was horrible, and the quality of service was bad. First off, one of the employees laughed at my husband a United States Army Veteran who just got back from fighting a war, when he asked if he could get a payment plan. Secondly, the day my car should have been ready, I got the run around. Then Kevin one of the managers of the place called me to ask ME how to reset my alarm.....I hire people for a living, i dont work on cars. I would have expected him to be competant enough to have figured that out. Lastly, when we came to get the car my husband drove it before I signed the receipt. When my husband came back, he said the engine light was on. My engine light was NOT on when i dropped the car off. Now i was having serious problems with my clutch prior to bringing my car in which i understand could do damage to the engine. The point being though my engine light was NOT on when i took it in, but when I left with it, it was. Between that and the customer service i would have thought someone would have done something about my problem. I got told that I could bring my car in to have them look at it again, though i was told they dont deal with engines. I was also told that it will be charged to me. It was a terrible experience, unless someone gives me a reason to return I will never return. I am half tempted to write to the media due to my experience. No one else should have to go through that. As a matter of fact I will do my best to prevent any oen from having to experience the service I had to experience. Coming from a person that does the hiring for a major steel company, i was appauled with the service i received.

Test T
8 Years Ago

I visited the 265 centennial parkway location for an unknown issue with my transmission on july 18th. Within an hour or two of speaking with Chris, he had identified my problem and worked out a few options with me. More than anything, I was most impressed with the down-to-earth nature of Chris and his friendly and straight-forward demeanor. I can honestly say after being to transmission places before, the ideology is typically that of a store not a repair shop, and the customer service rep attempts to sell rather than assist. Chris surprised me with his attitude and communication, and for that I would return to that location in the future.

Timothy K
8 Years Ago

Video Reviews

Featured Services
Transmission Repair

The evolution of transmissions has made these machines and systems increasingly complex. When transmission repairs are required, determining the cause and cure for what ails can be tricky.

Learn More
Transmission Technology

At Mister Transmission we have access to leading-edge diagnostic equipment, enabling us to offer you the fastest and most accurate findings about what’s going on inside your vehicle’s transmission.

Learn More
Transmission Maintenance & Service

Just as you have other parts of your car serviced, your transmission needs maintenance to ensure a long life and avoid transmission problems.

Learn More
image-reviews image-reviews
Customer Reviews
Quick friendly service.
James Deadman
Quick friendly service.
Date: July 4, 2020
Website: Google
Great work done, a real...
Meagan Miller
Great work done, a real lifesaver. Thank you guys 👍👍
Date: May 7, 2020
Website: Google
"Forget the rest...go to the...
Kanadian Bacon
"Forget the rest...go to the best"! *Let Chris know your needs and he'll make you satisfied,guarentee d!
Date: January 23, 2020
Website: Google
I recommend this repair facility...
Kerry Hubert
I recommend this repair facility 100 per cent
Date: January 11, 2020
Website: Google
Great service fast friendly and...
Chris Honcoop
Great service fast friendly and most of all honest
Date: December 6, 2019
Website: Google
Great service and staff
Gord Mooney
Great service and staff
Date: August 7, 2019
Website: Google
Great people to deal with
John Tedesco
Great people to deal with
Date: June 8, 2019
Website: Google
EXCELLENT SERVICE & STAF!! I...
Don Gee
EXCELLENT SERVICE & STAF!! I am a retired auto and heavy truck technician and have no affiliation with this company. In Feb of 2017 the transmission on our 208 Ford Escape was not shifting properly. We took it to Mr. Transmission on Upper James St. in Hamilton and Chris took the vehicle for a road test. it was determined the band had broke and this was a common problem. Our Escape had less than 96,000 Km onit. In order to replace the band the transmission had to be removed and taken apart. I told Chris I would rather they rebuild our transmission, rather tan installing a rebuilt exchange unit. Chris aggreed and gave us a quate. A few days later Chris phoned to let us know our Escape was all ready. Chris arrived with our vehicle and picked us up. The bill was as quoted with a warranty of one year or 20,000 Km Almost a year later the transmission started slipping in reverse in the cold wather. I contacted Chris and made arrangements to leave the vehicle overnight so he could check it in the morning when it was cold. Unfortuneatly it worked okay for him. It did not mesbehave until January of 2019. I contacted Chris at Mr. T. and explained the progems with the transmission slipping in reverse was getting worse and sometimes it would slip in low. The vehicle had about 106,000 Km at this time. We made arrangements to leave the vehicle overnight and I typed out a detailed list of events and left it with him. The next day Chris phoned and said the transmission sliiped for him but he was not sure whcich cours of action he was going to take. Late in the day Chis phoned back and said they had done some test and if we did not need the vehicle for a couple of days he would remove the transmission and enspect it. We agreed. A couple of days later Chris phoned and said they had found a couple of things, mainly the torque converter and a worn bushing. Chris said we could pick up the Escape and try it for a week and let him know how it performed. This was in the first week of March 2019 and the weather had wormed up. The transmission has been working properly. When I asked Chris about the bill (I was expecting to pay for the removeal and replacement) Chris Said NO CHARGE!! FANTASTIC CUSTOMER SERVICE!! Along time ago I learned it is far better to approach a problem calm cool and collective rather than going into a place ranting and raving and shouting and cursing. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK CHRIS & STAFF!! DON G - APRIL 14, 2019 HAMILTON
Date: April 25, 2019
Website: Google
Good experience for me. Fixed...
Benjamin Grim
Good experience for me. Fixed my problem. Reasonable. On time. Fair service.
Date: February 5, 2019
Website: Google
I took my car there...
Dan Shaps
I took my car there after reading positive reviews... I was very stressed as I just bought my used Ford and thought the transmission blew. Joe was very professional and almost calming as I my head felt like it was going to explode with stress. Turns out there is an extended warranty from ford for these issues. Joe and his team spent hours diagnosing the issues and even called ford for me. Very honest business! I would highly recommend them.
Date: August 23, 2018
Website: Google
Recent Blogs
Can A Transmission Be Repaired?
Transmission repair is a tricky business. That is because transmissions themselves
Read More
June 17, 2020
How Long Can You Drive With A Bad Transm...
Procrastination: it’s something we’re all guilty of. Why do today what you can
Read More
June 10, 2020
How Do I Know If My Transmission Needs T...
If you can avoid it, you really do not want to replace your transmission.
Read More
June 3, 2020
What Are The Symptoms Of Low Transmissio...
Low transmission fluid can cause multiple issues with your automobile’s
Read More
May 27, 2020
How to Check Transmission Fluid
Regular checking of your transmission fluid is a vital practice to keep up the health
Read More
May 1, 2020
Is Transmission Service Necessary?
When dealing with automotive professionals, regular people sometimes get nervous.
Read More
April 27, 2020
What Can Cause A Drivetrain To Malfuncti...
Your drivetrain is an integral part of your automobile. If your drivetrain
Read More
April 24, 2020
What Is The Purpose Of The Drivetrain?
The reason that we at Mister Transmission dedicate ourselves specifically to the
Read More
April 20, 2020
Car Disinfection: 5 Tips For Sanitizing ...
During the COVID-19 pandemic, it’s best to stay indoors as much as possible. If you
Read More
April 10, 2020
Is A Drivetrain The Same Thing As A Tran...
Most of us have visions of being something of a grease monkey. Who wouldn’t want to
Read More
February 12, 2020